Home > What we are eating > Cabbage

Cabbage

I love cabbage.  I’ve pretty much never had a cabbage dish that I didn’t like. I promised my friend I would share ideas other than coleslaw.

Here’s a warm cabbage recipe. Warning: it includes yellow raisins. Good way to keep my family from eating it.

Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup. I use the recipe from The Tassajara Recipe Book.

Cabbage Pie

Cabbage sauteed with basalmic vinegar on top.

Cabbage with any form of sausage. Admittedly this doesn’t help my vegetarian friend. But…

Eggs and cabbage

Cabbage + lentils + Indian spices. + garlic + onions.

Cabbage lentil soup.

Crunchy Peanut slaw:
(2 cups cabbage, 1/2 c carrots) mix with dressing (1/4 c oil, 1/4 c vinegar, 3 TBS soy sauce, 3 TBS brown sugar, 2 TBS peanut butter*). Can add cilantro, green onions, leftover chicken or tofu, sunflower seeds. *palm oil optional

Raw cabbage is pretty yummy. If you like cabbage.

And of course all the different kinds of coleslaw.

I’m sure I have more ideas, but I’m at work and not in front of my cookbooks.

Categories: What we are eating
  1. October 22, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/rustic-cabbage-soup-recipe.html

    A favorite in our house(& veggie friendly!)

  2. October 22, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    OMG yes! Did you get that recipe from me? I can’t believe I forgot it the first time. Even my husband loves that soup.

  3. October 22, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    I am a longtime lover of 101 cookbooks but I may have ended up there via a recommendation from you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

