Home > Uncategorized > I should be flattered

I should be flattered

I made this sweater for L.

pink sweater

I finished it on Tuesday. Today is Thursday, she’s worn it every day since then (has it on now).

A few nights ago I experimented and made some undies for the big girl. (That Darn Kat pattern, recycled t shirts) Fun, but not necessarily a cost-effective way of keeping your child in underwear.  Anyhow, last night as Erin’s picking out her clothes to wear to school today she wants to wear:
*the new undies
*a long john shirt I made for her
*a pair of polarfleece leggings I made for her
*her new knit sweater (no picture, it’s a little ugly, but she loves it)
*handknit socks.

I gather all the stuff together, with the exception of the socks. There aren’t any pairs of socks available that I knit. She goes to bed, I think that’s the end of it. This morning she had a fit when I told her to just put some socks on. It’s about 5 degrees out mind you.

Sigh. I guess she wanted to be surrounded in Mama-made. Someday she’ll hate homemade right?

In the meantime, I’ll enjoy the mama-made stretch.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. January 12, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    that is really super sweet. why aren’t the undies cost-effective? aren’t they essentially free? if you need cheap t-shirts, come to the 50 cent sale with me every-other-saturday!

    this is almost the exact same sweater that i’m making for sonnen, but i’m not putting sleeves on it.

    • January 13, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      They are essentially free — only each pair takes me ~30 minutes to make. If I bill my time out they are not at all cost effective, LOL. I suppose sweater making isn’t either.

  2. January 14, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    oh, yeah . . .
    i only consider the cost of my time with things i don’t enjoy. sewing/knitting i consider to be free entertainment/therapy. (if i spend an hour being crafty, i just saved a $25 copay!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

