Home > What we are doing > vacation! family! (quiet! time alone!)

vacation! family! (quiet! time alone!)

I live and work in a border town. The university for which I work does not have a fall break. The rest of my family does (they work across the border from me).

I think Child #2’s face shows just how excited she was to go visit her cousin, aunt and uncle (with her dad and #1).

What you can’t see is my excitement for a weekend without kids. Don’t get me wrong, I adore my children. But that’s just it — sometimes I sacrifice too much of myself to them. I become overspent, irritable and just need some time alone.

 

I’ve been home (more or less) alone, for a few days. For the first time in years, like possibly 8. Aside from just having a chance to do things I haven’t been able to do (go out for a beer with a coworker and decide to stay for dinner, have dinner with a friend, browse for a birthday gift, knit for hours and watch crummy tv…), I’ve also had lots of thinking time. I think that for me, this is one of the biggest challenges I have in parenting: I need time alone to think and process information and I just don’t get enough. It could be that I need a lot more time alone that your average joe, I have no way to judge.  But for a few more hours I’ll be enjoying the silence.

Categories: What we are doing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

