Home > What we are making > It is Valentine season…..

It is Valentine season…..

My memory from childhood: small box of Valentines. I sign my name on the back. Occasionally I had more kids in my class than I had in the box and my mom would find some random one in the big chest she kept holiday stuff in.


I think things are different now and things are certainly different for my kids than they were for me. The kids and I went to Michaels craft shop and picked up some supplies. Grandma hinted she might send some supplies as well (she did and they arrived on the day we planned to make the cards). I bet these cards cost significantly more in money to produce than the version I used as a child, but the kids LOVE doing it.

New rug in the living room to sit on, warm sweatshirts with hoods, fire in the woodstove. Really, can you think of a better way to spend a Friday afternoon?

sidenote: I think wordpress changed its photo inserting stuff. Still working out the kinks.

Categories: What we are making
  1. cpanero
    February 11, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Chalk the expense up to “entertainment.” (That’s where we file our costly berry-picking habit.)

    I like your new rug.

  2. February 11, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I waited too long. When we went to Michael’s, they were out of EVERYTHING. 😦 So we did the lame “sign your name” kind this year. I promised Olivia I would do better next year.

    • doctormama
      February 16, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      @Monica: I think Michaels had that stuff out earlier than normal this year. Erin’s second grade class: Erin + one other girl made cards.

      @Chris: that’s exactly where it goes “entertainment.” The new rug is not my favorite but its great at hiding dirt/wood chips/beads. It does make the room a bit warmer, but it is busier than I like.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

