Home > Uncategorized > Kale Salad

Kale Salad

I own  Feeding the Whole Family by Cynthia Lair and pretty much everything I’ve made from it is awesome. Yesterday I went looking for something to make with kale and ran across the Kale and Currant Salad. I didn’t have all the ingredients and in classic DoctorMama fashion improvised and it worked out. Here’s the basic recipe and my modifications:

Kale and Currant Salad

1 bunch of kale
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 cup diced red onion
1/3 cup currants
3/4 cup diced apple (about 1/2 apple)
1/3 cup sunflower seeds, toasted
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbs unfiltered apple cider vinegar
1/3 cup gorgonzola cheese.

Destem the kale, wash, dry. Cut kale into thin ribbons – it is possible to do this if you stack them all up and roll it up like a tortilla. But I did each one individually because my kale was particularly unwieldy.
Put kale + salt into large mixing bowl. Massage the salt into the kale for 2 minutes with your hands (this will release green pigments so your hands might turn green). Side note: useful technique for making coleslaw too.

Stir all the rest of the ingredients (except the cheese) in. Taste for salt and vinegar and add more if necessary.
Then when you’re satisfied add cheese.

My changes:

  • I used 1/2 bunch of kale and 1/2 bunch of mustard greens.
  • I only had white onions so that’s what I used
  • No currants in the house so I put in dried cranberries
  • The apple I was cutting was consumed by the oldest child. So I added more cranberries.
  • Feta instead of gorgonzola.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

