Home > what we are thinking > The word of the day is…..

The word of the day is…..

The word of the day is gratitude.I’ve been taking the bus because our car needs a clutch. Like needed a clutch 2 months ago and will no longer travel faster than 25 miles per hour. So it’s at the shop. The van has been reassigned to DoctorDad and I’m busing it. The bus ride to my work is reasonably easy: 2 second walk to the busline, 20 minute ride downtown, layover downtown and then a 20 minute ride right to the university. But I don’t often do it because it’s not handy: the bus runs once an hour, sometimes less. And there’s the layover downtown. And there’s witnessing drug dealings (maybe) near the bus stop downtown. And of course, all the normal running around I do to/from work can’t happen. So while it is a major drag to be forced to ride the bus this week, each day when I am on that bus I’m so very thankful — my life is really good.

Today I am feeling gratitude:

  • for my lovely family.
  • for a good job.
  • for payday. YAY! Today is payday 1 for one of DoctorDad’s jobs.
  • for a night out with friends last night.
  • for cherry beer. Even if I woke up this morning wondering if 2 cherry beers was too many. And I was dragging all day.
  • for friends calling, emailing and texting me to offer rides. I’m surrounded by people who are willing to help.
  • for a great pediatrician who can work with child 1’s personality and make her feel like she (child #1) has choices and comes out ahead.
  • that child #1 does not have scarlet fever.
  • that our favorite chocolate bars are $1.99 this week at the co-op
  • and most of all that Jimmy’s might be able to install the new clutch before I have to take the bus Monday morning.

How about you? What are you thankful for?

Categories: what we are thinking
  1. kmgannon
    September 19, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    I’m thankful for a healthy dose of perspective whenever I get it, as is the case here. I’m also thankful for the glorious chaos that is my home and family.

  2. September 20, 2012 at 12:02 am

    I’m thankful that I know you the little bit that I do! 🙂

  3. September 20, 2012 at 12:04 am

    Me too! __ that is to say I’m pleased to know you too Monica!

  4. September 22, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    I’m thankful that you are married to my son and the mother of my grandchildren. They couldn’t do better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

