Home > What we are eating > Pumpkin Apple Soup, you do not disappoint

Pumpkin Apple Soup, you do not disappoint

I’m working from home today. My desk coffee table is covered with the papers I’m working on. My nose is running with the fall sinus thing that my friends have all been passing around. Apparently its bad enough that Dr.Dad was in bed last night at 8:30. That’s rough.

The kids seem ok (err, well that’s a whole other blog post), I packed salad for them today in their lunches. The bread we have is uninspired, I ate salad for breakfast (when I was packing their lunches). At lunch time for me I was foraging around in the fridge and found the soup I made last week.

 

 

 

I found the recipe at Once a Month Mom, but I modified it slightly — different veggies, added wine, etc. Here’s the recipe I made

 

Curried Pumpkin Apple Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 medium apple, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1/4 to 1/2 c white wine
  • 3 cups chicken broth (or a good veggie broth would be great here too)
  • 2.5 cups canned pumpkin (or cooked squash would work)
  • 0.25 teaspoons salt
  • 1 whole bay leaf
  • 0.33 cup heavy cream – I did not add these two, but I’m keeping them here if you like.
  • 3 Tablespoons honey

Directions:

Melt butter in medium soup pot over medium heat. Stir in onion, celery and apples. Saute until onions are clear. Stir in curry powder and saute for about a minute. Add wine and cook for one more minute.  Stir in half of chicken broth. Pour contents of the pan into blender or food processor. Add the canned pumpkin and blend until smooth. Add mixture back to pot, stir in remaining chicken broth, salt and bay leaf. Turn heat to medium high and bring to a simmer, stirring occasionally.

<let sit in your fridge for a few days>

I didn’t do this, but it might be even yummier: After 5 minutes, stir in heavy cream and honey. Simmer for 2 minutes more.

Serve with cranberries and pumpkin seeds in your favorite bowl you brought back from New Zealand. Remember fantastic trip you took in August 2001. Make plans to go back.

Categories: What we are eating
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

